Jess Klein's Substack
Jess Klein's Podcast
Trying to Cool Off
0:00
-5:21

Paid episode

The full episode is only available to paid subscribers of Jess Klein's Substack

Trying to Cool Off

Plus a show in Durham, a video of I Hear Love, and a new lyric in progress

All I want to do is send everyone love right now. It’s too hot outside. The world is overheating; our hearts hurt. I want to help us cool off.

This morning I went for a swim at my county Sportsplex. They have an olympic size pool for more serious lap-swimmers, but I always choose the warmer, 4 foot deep “Rec Pool”, where I can stop and just stand there and look around or walk slowly through the water if I want.

Today a class of senior citizens was doing water aerobics next to me in the main section of the Rec Pool. The instructor barked orders at them, indecipherable in the cavernous echo of the pool dome, but the class itself looked to be having a great time, swim-sweating to the oldies. There was one older man up front near the teacher with a determined look on his face doing high knees to Chubby Checker. His focus comforted me.

It’s summer and a time some of us associate with romance, getting away, childhood adventures. It’s hard to square that with a world that seems so much like an angry teenager refusing reason, hell-bent on torching everything. I guess I’m trying to find some middle ground here. Where we do the work of healing and also get the joy of healing. It’s not my idea; it’s a sacred one, a life-giving one, which I’m learning about from thinkers like adrienne maree brown and Audre Lorde.

Finding deeper joy is revolutionary because the systems we live in generally offer us two choices: work our asses off, stress, panic and worry OR avoid, consume, disconnect. There really has to be more. I think our souls know there is more and that’s why art and creativity exist.

Here’s a song I wrote a few years ago, I Hear Love, from my 2019 album Back to My Green.

***

This morning I woke up with the seed of a new song in my head. I think it’s called “The Best of Us”. I heard the first line in my head as I came to consciousness, and made myself lie there, pretending to be asleep until the thought had developed as long as it wanted to before I got up and risked losing the thread.

I was thinking, or I guess dreaming about - well, everything. My stepdad’s death 4 years ago, the insanity of the world, the desire to be a better person. It feels promising so far, the song. In the melody I hear traces of “I Don’t Wanna Go Home” written by Little Steven Van Zandt for Southside Johnny. (We recently watched the documentary “Little Steven: Disciple”; I strongly recommend it.). I love how you never know what can inspire a new song.

I’ve shared the lyric below for paid subscribers. If you would like to upgrade to read the lyric, get access to other exclusives and support my work please do so here:

Jess Klein's Substack is a reader-supported publication. To receive new posts and support my work, consider becoming a free or paid subscriber.

DURHAM, join me this Sunday 7/21 for a solo show at this new series. Held at the Radical Healing Campus, this show will be rain or shine (they have both an indoor and outdoor space). Tickets are sliding scale and $1 per ticket will go to the Compassion Access Project providing high quality herbal medicine to support mental and physical health needs for BIPOC and LGBTQIA folks.

GET TICKETS

WINSTON-SALEM! Coming back to play for you Thursday August 8th at Gas Hill Drinking Room! I’ll share the evening with my inimitable friend, songwriter Grant Peeples, about whom Americana Gazette says, “Patriots, priests, pole-dancing for god, and the politics of belief. Grant Peeples’ music isn’t easy, but it’s real as hell, and beautiful t’boot.” We’ll do some duets, some protest songs, some soul-baring. It’ll be a great night.

GET TICKETS

Playlist - Songs of Summer Crushes

Every month I host a Sunday Salon (usually 3rd Sundays but varies based on my tour schedule). This is where I get together with fans over zoom and we co-create a playlist around a theme. It’s really fun, and I love getting to hear what artists/songs my fans are into. Last month’s theme was “Songs of Summer Crushes.” Co-created this with one of my beloved Patrons, Andy. It’s short because it was just us as the other Salon regulars were off doing summer things. So it’s a playlist for a short-lived summer crush. LISTEN HERE.

To join my next Salon, please consider becoming a Paid Subscriber.

SUMMER SHOWS

7/21 SEANCE Concert Series, Durham, NC

8/2 3rd Street Coffeehouse, Roanoke, VA

8/8 Gas Hill Drinking Room, Winston-Salem, NC - w/special guest Grant Peoples

8/16-8/18 Philadelphia Folk Festival, Old Pool Farm, Upper Salford Township, PA

9/5-9/8 Antlers & Acorns Songwriters Festival, Boone, NC

Thank you for reading Jess Klein's Substack. This post is public so feel free to share it.

Share

Listen to this episode with a 7-day free trial

Subscribe to Jess Klein's Substack to listen to this post and get 7 days of free access to the full post archives.

Jess Klein's Substack
Jess Klein's Podcast
Singer-Songwriter based in North Carolina by way of Boston, NYC and Austin, TX. Sharing about my creative process + intersections between music, healing, justice & community. Plus news about my upcoming tour dates .
Listen on
Substack App
RSS Feed
Appears in episode
Jess Klein